Quotidian Theatre Company Presents Anton Chekhov’s THE LADY WITH THE LITTLE DOG, Original Adaptation of the Classic Short Story

LWLD WordPress Banner 060716

Quotidian Theatre Company continues its dynamic 2016 season with the the lovely and haunting The Lady With the Little Dog, adapted from the beloved short story and directed by Stephanie Mumford.

Two strangers in 1901 Yalta – one seeking to escape his boring Moscow routine, the other in quest of a meaningful life beyond Saratov – discover what they have been searching for in each other. But, can they hold on to it? Anton Chekhov’s classic short story – his quotidian take on Tolstoy’s Anna Karenina – receives an imaginative staging with live classical Russian music.

Coming off the Helen Hayes-recommended production of her adaptation of Chekhov’s A Little Trick, Mumford uses Russian classical music and artworks by Aivazovsky to create the setting for this classic love story.

“I wanted to take a story I felt deeply about, and bring it to life,” says Mumford. “There are so many elements of beauty and passion that leap off the page for the reader, the best way, I felt, was to adapt it into a theatrical experience, complete with music and art – elements that Chekhov references throughout. It will be a unique piece, and something in keeping with Quotidian’s intimate stagings of truth and beauty in the everyday.”

The Lady With the Little Dog opens on July 8, 2016 at 8:00 p.m. at the Writer’s Center in Bethesda, Maryland, and runs through August 7.

Performance Information

Dates & Times – Fridays and Saturdays at 8pm; Sundays at 2pm with an added 2pm Saturday matinee on 6 August

Venue – 4508 Walsh Street in Bethesda, MD 20815 (at the Writer’s Center, where QTC is the resident theater company)

Prices – $30 Regular, $25 Seniors, and $15 Students/Writer Center Members

Schedule

Fri, July 8, 8pm

Sat, July 9, 8pm

Sun, July 10, 2pm

 

Fri, July 15, 8pm

Sat, July 16, 8pm

Sun, July 17, 2pm

 

Fri, July 22, 8pm

Sat, July 23, 8pm

Sun, July 24, 2pm

 

Fri, July 29, 8pm

Sat, July 30, 8pm

Sun, July 31, 2pm

 

Fri, August 5, 8pm

Sat, August 6, 2pm

Sat, August 6, 8pm

Sun, August 7, 2pm

 

Tickets for the general public are available at Brown Paper Tickets (http://qtclady.bpt.me/) or by calling the Quotidian Theatre Company box office at 301-816-1023.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: